‘Underworld’ Franchise Comes To 4K Ultra HD In October

One of the great constants in the horror genre is that vampires and werewolves don’t particularly like each other.

Of course, that’s the premise for the entire five-film Underworld franchise. And now, just in time for Halloween, Sony Pictures Home Entertainment is bringing that collection home in one set in 4K Ultra HD, as reported by comicbook.com. The limited edition set will be available Oct. 5–in plenty of time to view them all before the big day.

The special box set release–priced at $95.99–includes UnderworldUnderworld: EvolutionUnderworld: Rise of the Lycans, Underworld: Awakening and Underworld: Blood Wars.

The films, as explained, have been fully remastered and include HDR and Dolby Atmos audio, plus the original theatrical audio mixes. The set also includes archival special features and rare featurettes that haven’t been previously available to fans.

The Underworld franchise–created by Len Wiseman, Kevin Grevioux and Danny McBride–follows characters caught up in a frenzied war between vampires and werewolves (or lycans). The original 2003 Underworld introduces Selene (Kate Beckinsale), an elite vampire warrior, and Michael Corvin (Scott Speedman), a human who becomes involved in the conflict.

The series–which received generally negative reviews–still attained cult status with fans and earned $539 million on a combined budget of $207 million.

With Beckinsale recently saying she was not opposed to reprising her Selene role in another film, keep reading Horror News Network for the latest on any possible continuation of the Underworld franchise.

Thomas Tuna
Thomas A. Tuna is a comic book veteran who began his writing career back in the ’70s with Charlton Comics, contributing to such horror titles as Ghost Manor, Haunted, The Many Ghosts of Dr. Graves and Ghostly Haunts. Most recently, he has served as a writer and editor (with more than a smattering of horror yarns) for such comic book websites as Hyper Epics and Red Moon Features. Some of his favorite horror flicks include Jaws, Salem’s Lot, Dracula (with Frank Langella) and Blade. His favorite horror comic books? Tomb of Dracula (by Marv Wolfman and Gene Colan) and Swamp Thing (by Len Wein and Berni Wrightson).

Similar Articles


Latest News

Top Horror Franchises

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.

Site Sponsors