Posts

Ian McShane will Portray Professor Trevor Bruttenholm in Hellboy: Rise of the Blood Queen

The Hollywood Reporter has announced that Ian McShane will portray Professor Trevor Bruttenholm in the upcoming Hellboy: Rise of the Blood Queen film.

Professor Trevor “Broom” Bruttenholm (who was originally portrayed by the late John Hurt in the first two Hellboy films) is often seen as Hellboy’s adoptive father and plays an integral role in “Big Red’s” life as well as in the formation of the B.P.R.D. in the original film and the source material. Bruttenholm has even starred in some of his own comic stories, most notably in B.P.R.D.: 1946, B.P.R.D.: 1947, and B.P.R.D.: 1948 which establishes much of the Hellboy mythos for the entire Hellboy series. read more

Rumble: A Woe that is Madness Graphic Novel Review

Rumble: A Woe that is Madness Graphic Novel TP Review

Writer: John Arcudi
Artist: James Harren
Publisher: Image
Rating: 10 out of 10

Synopsis: Long time B.P.R.D. writer John Arcudi and artist James Harren create their own brand of monster mayhem at Image in this creator owned series that will definitely appeal to fans of Arcudi’s and Harren’s previous work.

Our Thoughts: John Arcudi’s run on B.P.R.D. has consistently been one of the best horror/monster comic books on the shelf. The stories are always filled with unimaginable horrors, but also deft characterization and story work juggling a large supporting cast. A recent addition to the Mignola-verse’s host of characters is the ancient sword wielding Agent Howards. Possessed or reincarnated as a prehistoric warrior, Howards often “steals the show” from already well-established characters like Johann Krauss and Liz Sherman. And I’m here to tell you that if you enjoyed Arcudi’s work on this title (and Agent Howards in particular), you owe it to yourself to grab a copy of the latest Rumble collection. read more