Soundtrack for Netflix’s Stranger Things Gets a Release Date

by Larry Dwyer

The eagerly awaited soundtrack for the smash-hit Netflix series, Stranger Things, has been announced and will be released in two parts by Lakeshore Records; Volume One on August 12th digitally and September 16th on CD and then Volume 2 on August 19th digitally and September 23rd on CD.

The popular show’s score is the brainchild of Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, both members of the Austin, Texas synth band S U R V I V E. According to the press release, the directors of Stranger Things were fans of the band and reached out to see if they were available to score their show. Of the show’s unique score, Michael Stein said, “We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show but being reserved enough that it wasn’t ’80s cheese, while offering a refreshing quality so that felt modern.”

While some fans of the show may be upset to learn that songs they heard on the show from popular 80’s bands like The Clash, Modern English and Joy Division are not on the soundtrack, a playlist containing all of those tracks can be found on Spotify.

Below is a list of the tracks from Dixon and Stein that will appear on Volume One of the two-part release:

01 Stranger Things

02 Kids

03 Nancy and Barb

04 This Isn’t You

05 Lay-Z-Boy

06 Friendship

07 Eleven

08 A Kiss

09 Castle Byers

10 Hawkins

11 The Upside Down

12 After Sarah

13 One Blink for Yes

14 Photos in the Woods

15 Fresh Blood

16 Lamps

17 Hallucinations

18 Hanging Lights

19 Biking to School

20 Are You Sure?

21 Agents

22 Papa

23 Cops Are Good at Finding

24 No Weapons

25 Walking Through the Nether

26 She’ll Kill You

27 Run Away

28 No Autopsy

29 Dispatch

30 Joyce and Lonnie Fighting

31 Lights Out

32 Hazmat Suits

33 Theoretically

34 You Can Talk to Me

35 What Else Is There to Do?

36 Hawkins Lab


Leave a Comment