‘Origins’ Series Airs Before ‘The Walking Dead’ Season 11

Fans of The Walking Dead can look forward to a bonus from AMC Networks before the debut of the zombie saga’s 11th and final season.

The network this week announced a four-episode The Walking DeadOrigins series that will air starting next month to lead into the premiere of the last go-round for The Walking Dead on AMC Aug. 22, as reported by comicbook.com.

This Origins series “charts the story of the zombie apocalypse from the point of view of a single character, and features new interviews and narrations from the actors who portray the characters–interwoven with clips from pivotal moments of their journeys,” according to the official synopsis.

The show will spotlight Daryl Dixon (Norman Reedus), Carol Peletier (Melissa McBride), Maggie Rhee (Lauren Cohan) and Negan (Jeffrey Dean Morgan). Origins airs exclusively on AMC+ starting July 15 with Daryl’s Story, and continues with Maggie’s Story July 22, Negan’s Story July 29 and Carol’s Story Aug. 5.

Each episode, as explained, will air alongside an exclusive sneak peek from the 24-episode Season 11 of The Walking Dead, as well as a “Best Of” collection that features fan-favorite episodes for each character.

Origins joins a lineup of Walking Dead Universe content on AMC+ that includes complete ad-free seasons of Season 10 of The Walking Dead, Season 6 of Fear the Walking Dead and the first season of The Walking DeadWorld Beyond. Whew! That is a lot of walking dead.

Keep reading Horror News Network for the latest on the complex and ever-growing world of The Walking Dead.

Thomas Tuna
Thomas A. Tuna is a comic book veteran who began his writing career back in the ’70s with Charlton Comics, contributing to such horror titles as Ghost Manor, Haunted, The Many Ghosts of Dr. Graves and Ghostly Haunts. Most recently, he has served as a writer and editor (with more than a smattering of horror yarns) for such comic book websites as Hyper Epics and Red Moon Features. Some of his favorite horror flicks include Jaws, Salem’s Lot, Dracula (with Frank Langella) and Blade. His favorite horror comic books? Tomb of Dracula (by Marv Wolfman and Gene Colan) and Swamp Thing (by Len Wein and Berni Wrightson).

Similar Articles


Latest News

Top Horror Franchises

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.

Site Sponsors