‘Locke & Key’ Receives Premiere Date From Netflix

Fans of the ever-popular author Joe Hill, who has multiple projects in varying stages of development, won’t need to wait long for their next fix.  According to Deadline, the supernatural mystery series Locke & Key, based on a comic book series written by Hill and illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez for IDW Publishing, will premiere on February 7th, 2020 on Netflix.   The streaming service made the announcement on Wednesday, and was confirmed by Hill’s official Twitter account shortly afterwards (see below.)

Locke & Key is the latest in a growing list of movie and television projects based on the author’s works that have hit the big and small screen recently.  Netflix brought his novella In The Tall Grass (where he collaborated with his legendary father Stephen King) to the masses back in October.  His other works adapted for visual mass consumption include NOS4A2 (AMC), Horns (starring Harry Potter himself, Daniel Radcliffe), and one episode of Shudder’s Creepshow series.  Locke & Key had previously been picked up by both Fox (in 2010) and Hulu (in 2017) for series, but in both cases the project fell apart before production.  Netflix announced back on May 30th, 2018, that they would give it a shot.  Lucky for horror fans, they were successful in developing the show.

The story, broken into a three-act structure, sees three siblings dealing with the untimely passing of their father.  Their return to their ancestral home for answers finds them discovering a series of mysterious keys which may be connected to their patriarch’s death.  Among those cast are Jackson Robert Scott (It; It Chapter Two), Bill Heck (The Leftovers) and Hallea Jones (Amazon’s The Boys).  Hill will executive produce along with a sleu of others including Andy Muschietti (It; It Chapter Two).

We will be waiting anxiously for the February 7th premiere, but in the meantime stay tuned to HNN for more news on Locke & Key as it breaks!

 

Sean McLaughlin
Sean McLaughlin
Sean McLaughlin has been writing for Horror News Network since 2012. Catch up with him on Twitter at @Makasupa and read his in-depth bio on our About Us page.

Similar Articles

Comments

Latest News

Netflix Finalizing Acquisition of ‘The Woman in the Window’

If you like thrillers in the vein of Hitchcock’s Rear Window and Vertigo, you may want to pay close attention to the upcoming flick...

Stephen King Teases New Novel ‘Later’ Due Out Next March

As Founding Father Benjamin Franklin once wrote: "In this world, nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes." Well, you can add...

‘The Rental’ Leads The Pack–Again–At The Box Office

Dave Franco's directorial debut is going very well so far. His horror flick The Rental held onto its crown as box office king for the second consecutive...

Satanic Panic ’81’s Sophomore Effort “Mara” to Release this October

Satanic Panic 81’s sophomore effort “Mara” is a tense and frightening walk through the mind of composer Brian Burdzy. From the hauntingly pounding opening...

Santa Stripe Coming from NECA Toys This Fall

As Crazy Eddie pitchman Jerry Carroll used to say "It's Christmas in July!!!" for fans of high end monster toys and Gremlins. NECA announced that...

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.