Lobster Johnson: A Chain Forged in Life One-Shot Review

by Rob Caprilozzi

By Nick Banks

 

Lobster Johnson: A Chain Forged in Life One-Shot Review

 

Writer: Mike Mignola, John Arcudi

Artist: Troy Nixey, Kevin Nowlan

Publisher: Dark Horse

Release Date: July 29, 2015

Rating: 9 out of 10

 

Synopsis:  It’s “Christmas in July” as the Lobster has to save Santa from a horrible fate! 

Our Thoughts:  Fans of Hellboy and BPRD should be very familiar with the pulp hero Lobster Johnson.  In the grand tradition of the Shadow and the Spider, he is a classic hard-boiled mystery man who punishes the wicked and defends the innocent.  And when it comes to innocent, who wouldn’t want to protect a department store Santa on Christmas Eve!   

 

The story follows a similar morality play style more akin to classic EC Horror than the Mignola-verse, but Johnson fits the bill as the supernatural arbiter of justice.  The Lobster is in fact the only supernatural element in the entire story.  This is not a criticism however, as we get to see the hero from the perspective of the criminals and the wayward Santa.   

 

Fan favorite Kevin Nolan returns to his first action since: Hellboy’s “Buster Oakley Gets His Wish” and Lobster Johnson’s “Satan Smells a Rat”.  His realistic art bookends the story and newcomer Troy Nixey’s exaggerated, almost Dick Tracy-esque style works well for this story set in the 1940’s.  Get ready for your present early this year!

 

Leave a Comment