Horror News Network’s Comic Awards 2020: Writer of the Year

The 2020 Horror Comic Award for Writer of the Year goes to Jeff Lemire. The busy writer, who also won Writer of the Year in 2019, spearheaded Gideon Falls, Family Tree and Joker: Killer Smile this year.

Lemire navigated the 2019 Horror Comic Award-winning series, Gideon Falls, towards its final act in 2020. The series, which centers on a man who becomes obsessed with a conspiracy in the city’s trash, and a washed-up Catholic priest who become obsessed with the legend of The Black Barn, an otherworldly building that is alleged to have appeared in both the city and the small town, throughout history, bringing death and madness in its wake.

Family Tree combines mystery, action, and Cronenbergian body horror into an epic story about the lengths a mother will go to keep her children safe in the face of an increasingly unstable world and unspeakable horrors.

In Joker: Killer Smile, Lemire crafts a chilling Joker story which follows the confident, world-beating Dr. Ben Arnell as he attempts to dive into Joker’s psyche.

Lemire has a solid horror history including his work on The Nobody, Animal Man, Frankenstein: Agent of S.H.A.D.E., Justice League Dark and Constantine.

Stay tuned to Horror News Network for the latest on the 2020 Horror Comic Awards.

Rob Caprilozzi
Rob Caprilozzi
Rob Caprilozzi created Comic Monsters in 2004 and eventually expanded the site in 2009 to Horror News Network. Born out his love for all aspects of horror, Rob still remains hardcore comic fan. You can keep up with him on Twitter @RobCaprilozzi.

Similar Articles


Latest News

Kurt Sutter to Direct ‘The Beast’ for Netflix

Kurt Sutter will make his feature directorial debut with the upcoming Blumhouse film This Beast. The idea was inspired by The Beast of Gevaudan....

Jennifer Tilly Among Cast Added to ‘Chucky’ Series

As announced by Deadline, the cast of the USA Network/Syfy series Chucky will include; Jennifer Tilly, reprising her as Tiffany Valentine. Zachary Arthur, Teo...

‘Teddy and the Guardians of the Night’ to Become a Feature Film at Netflix

Coming in from The Hollywood Reporter, Teddy and the Guardians of the Night will be the inspiration for a family adventure film at Netflix. Based...

Stephen King’s ‘Elevation’ to get Film Adaptation

If there's one man that created a shared universe more intricate than Marvel, it is Stephen King whose 2018 novella Elevation will be adapted...

Stephen King’s ‘The Talisman’ Series Coming to Netflix

Stranger Things creators the Duffer brothers, Steven Spielberg’s Amblin Television, and Paramount Television Studios are adapting The Talisman, a novel co-written by Stephen King...

Top Horror Franchises

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.

Site Sponsors