Bram Stoker Award® Winners and New Horror Convention Announced

by Lynn Sorel

From The Press Release:

Bram Stoker Award® Winners Announced in Atlanta

HWA President Announces New Horror Convention

Atlanta, GA–May 9, 2015–The Horror Writers Association (HWA) today announced the recipients of the 2015 Bram Stoker Awards® in a ceremony held in Atlanta as part of the 25th Anniversary World Horror Convention.

Twelve of the iconic haunted house statuettes were handed out during Saturday night’s banquet.




Superior Achievement in a NOVEL

Blood Kin by Steve Rasnic Tem (Solaris Books)



Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL

Mr. Wicker by Maria Alexander (Raw Dog Screaming Press)



Superior Achievement in a YOUNG ADULT NOVEL

Phoenix Island by John Dixon (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books)



Superior Achievement in a GRAPHIC NOVEL

Bad Blood by Jonathan Maberry (Dark Horse Books)



Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION

“Fishing for Dinosaurs” by Joe R. Lansdale (Limbus, Inc., Book II, JournalStone)



Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION (tie)

“The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” by Usman T. Malik (Qualia Nous, Written Backwards)

“Ruminations” by Rena Mason (Qualia Nous, Written Backwards)



Superior Achievement in a SCREENPLAY

The Babadook by Jennifer Kent (Causeway Films)



Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY

Fearful Symmetries edited by Ellen Datlow (ChiZine Publications)



Superior Achievement in a FICTION COLLECTION

Soft Apocalypses by Lucy A. Snyder (Raw Dog Screaming Press)



Superior Achievement in NON-FICTION

Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide by Lucy A. Snyder (Post Mortem Press)



Superior Achievement in a POETRY COLLECTION

Forgiving Judas by Tom Piccirilli (Crossroad Press)


The HWA also presented its annual Lifetime Achievement Award to Jack Ketchum, who was on hand to accept, and Tanith Lee. The Specialty Press Award went to Brett Savory and Sandra Kasturi of ChiZine Publications.

In addition to the achievement awards, the HWA recognized the service of several members with the Silver Hammer Award (Rena Mason), the President Richard Laymon Service Award (Doug Murano, Tom Calen, Brock Cooper), and the Mentor of the Year Award (Kathryn Ptacek).

“The past year had its challenges,: said HWA President Lisa Morton, who succeeded Rocky Wood after his death in 2014. “But on a night like this, we are reminded of the amazing talent in horror. The men and women honored tonight helped make 2014 an extraordinary year for the horror genre.”

At the start of Saturday’s ceremony, Morton announced the launch of StokerCon, an annual horror convention presented by the Horror Writers Association. The first StokerCon will be held at The Flamingo Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, NV on May 12-15, 2016. The HWA has already confirmed acclaimed author R.L. Stine as one of StokerCon 2016’s Guests of Honor.

“When the HWA formed thirty years ago, the organization was small,” Morton said. “Over the last three decades, we’ve witnessed an explosive growth in horror. It seemed only natural for the premier association of horror writers and publishers to found what we believe will become the world’s premier horror convention.”

Morton noted that the organization would release more information on StokerCon 2016, including additional Guests of Honor and other highlights, in the coming weeks.  

About the Horror Writers Association

The Horror Writers Association is a nonprofit organization of writers and publishing professionals around the world, dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. The HWA formed in 1985 with the help of many of the field’s greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe Lansdale.

Leave a Comment