‘The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires’ Tapped for Series Development at Amazon

Deadline is reporting that the soon to be released novel The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires is among the first projects on producer Patrick Moran’s Amazon development slate.

The book is written by Bram Stoker Award-Winning author Grady Hendrix who scribed My Best Friend’s Exorcism, Paperbacks from Hell, Horrorstör, and We Sold Our Souls.

The synopsis of The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires is as follows:
Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this horror novel set in 1990s suburban Charleston

Patricia Campbell’s life has never felt smaller. Her ambitious husband is too busy to kiss her good-bye in the morning, her kids are wrapped up in their own lives, and she’s always a step behind on thank-you notes and endless chores. The one thing she has to look forward to is her book club, a close-knit group of Charleston women united by their love of true crime and suspenseful fiction.

This predictable pattern is upended when Patricia is viciously attacked by an elderly neighbor, bringing the neighbor’s handsome relative, James Harris, into her life. Sensitive and well-read, James makes Patricia feel things she hasn’t felt in twenty years. But there’s something…off…and then Patricia’s senile mother-in-law insists she knew him back when she was a girl.

When local children go missing, Patricia has reason to believe that James may be more Bundy than Beatnik. But once she and the book club members investigate further, the true monster emerges—and he’s far more terrifying than any serial killer they’ve ever read about.

The novel is set to be released on April 7, 2020. There is no further information on the Amazon series at this time. Stay tuned to Horror News Network for more on The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires.

Rob Caprilozzi
Rob Caprilozzi
Rob Caprilozzi created Comic Monsters in 2004 and eventually expanded the site in 2009 to Horror News Network. Born out his love for all aspects of horror, Rob still remains hardcore comic fan. You can keep up with him on Twitter @RobCaprilozzi.

Similar Articles

Comments

Latest News

Netflix Finalizing Acquisition of ‘The Woman in the Window’

If you like thrillers in the vein of Hitchcock’s Rear Window and Vertigo, you may want to pay close attention to the upcoming flick...

Stephen King Teases New Novel ‘Later’ Due Out Next March

As Founding Father Benjamin Franklin once wrote: "In this world, nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes." Well, you can add...

‘The Rental’ Leads The Pack–Again–At The Box Office

Dave Franco's directorial debut is going very well so far. His horror flick The Rental held onto its crown as box office king for the second consecutive...

Satanic Panic ’81’s Sophomore Effort “Mara” to Release this October

Satanic Panic 81’s sophomore effort “Mara” is a tense and frightening walk through the mind of composer Brian Burdzy. From the hauntingly pounding opening...

Santa Stripe Coming from NECA Toys This Fall

As Crazy Eddie pitchman Jerry Carroll used to say "It's Christmas in July!!!" for fans of high end monster toys and Gremlins. NECA announced that...

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.