Posts

WonderCon 2019: NOS4A2 Panel and Press Room Buzz

AMC brought its upcoming horror-drama NOS4A2 to the massive 7,500 seat arena at WonderCon in Anaheim, California. Fans in attendance were treated to an advance screening of the first episode, a new trailer, and a panel with most of the cast and key creators of the show. 

The show is based on the 2013 novel by Joe Hill of the same name and fans of the book will no doubt be wondering how the time jumps will be managed on a TV show. In the book, Vic McQueen (played by actress Ashleigh Cummings) realizes she has a special ability to find lost things at a very young age which would require a young actress. The creators of the show, including show runner Jami O’Brien and Joe Hill, made the decision to have Vic’s “power” become active as a teenage to minimize the time jumps.  read more

Full Trailer for ‘NOS4A2’ Arrives

Just yesterday at the NOS4A2 panel at Wondercon in Anaheim, California, AMC revealed the official trailer for the upcoming series. Fans cheered as the trailer ended and Joe Hill, Zachary Quinto, Ashleigh Cummings, and Ebon Moss-Bachrach took to the stage.

Based on Joe Hill’s novel of the same name, NOS4A2 follows Charlie Manx, a seductive immortal who feeds off the souls of children, then deposits what remains of them into Christmasland – an icy, twisted Christmas village of Manx’s imagination where every day is Christmas Day and unhappiness is against the law. Manx finds his whole world threatened when a young woman in New England discovers she has a dangerous gift. read more

New Trailer from AMC Reveals Creepy First Look at ‘NOS4A2’

During the mid-season premier of The Walking Dead‘s ninth season aired a teaser for AMC’s latest horror adaptation, NOS4A2 (pronounced Nosferatu), based on the novel by author Joe Hill.

Main characters include Vic McQueen, Bing Patridge, Chris McQueen, Linda McQueen and Charlie Manx, who will be respectively portrayed by Ashleigh Cummings, Olafur Darri Olafsson, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, Virginia Kull and Zachary Quinto.

An early synopsis for the series tells Quinto will play Manx, a seductive immortal who feeds off the souls of children, then deposits what remains of them into Christmasland – an icy, twisted Christmas village of Manx’s imagination where every day is Christmas Day and unhappiness is against the law. Manx finds his whole world threatened when a young woman in New England (Cummings) discovers she has a dangerous gift. Cummings will play Vic McQueen, a young, working-class artist whose creativity awakens a supernatural ability to track Manx. What Vic lacks in social confidence, she makes up for in courage, humor, and tough-as-nails grit. She strives to defeat Manx and rescue his victims without losing her mind or falling victim to him herself. read more

Bidding Battle for Film Rights of Joe Hill’s Short Story ‘Faun’ Won by Netflix and Sugar23

Coming exclusively from Deadline, Faun, an upcoming short story by Joe Hill, has been picked up by Netflix and Sugar23 to be adapted for the screen.

After winning a three-studio bidding war to secure the rights, Netflix is teaming with Jeremy Slater who will write the script and Michael Sugar will produce through his Sugar23 banner along with Ashley Zalta.

For interested readers, the short story will be published in a collection this coming fall titled At Home in the Dark.

Although the winning bid price has not been disclosed, the pitch presented to the buyers was as follows: read more

First look at Zachary Quinto as Charlie Manx in ‘NOS4A2’

The King family is no stranger to vampire fiction, specifically dad Stephen and son Joe. In 2013 Joe Hill, oldest son of author Stephen King, released his third novel, called NOS4A2, to mostly critical acclaim as it was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for best novel as well as named one of the top books of 2013 by Time Magazine.

In 2015, AMC announced that it had ordered a ten-episode series based on the book which finally began production this past October. Starring Ashleigh Cummings (Hounds of Love) as Vic McQueen and Zachary Quinto (Star Trek, Hannibal) as Charlie Manx – the story’s protagonist, an ancient sort of “psychic vampire”, AMC is looking to have the series out summer of 2019. read more

Ashley Romans Joins ‘NOS4A2’

Deadline is reporting that Ashley Romans has officially joined the cast of AMC’s NOS4A2. The up-and-coming actress is set to play the role of FBI agent Tabitha Hutter.  Romans is known for her roles on Christmas Crime Story, I’m Dying Up Here, and Shameless. She will join Ashleigh Cummings, Zachary Quinto, Virginia Kull, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, and Olafur Darri Olafsson on the series.

Based on Joe Hill’s book by the same name, NOS4A2 follows Victoria McQueen, a woman who has the ability to find things that have gone missing. Victoria comes face to face with the deadly Charlie Manx, a supernatural creature that feeds on the souls of children. The 720 page novel was published by William Morrow and Company and released on April 30, 2013. The novel has received mostly positive reviews and even landed on Time Magazine’s ten best books of 2013. read more

Greg Nicotero Discusses ‘Creepshow’ Details at Shudder’s NYCC Panel

Fans of George Romero’s and Stephen King’s original Creepshow film will be happy to hear that according to showrunner Greg Nicotero, the new Shudder series will follow a similar format to the 1982 film and will, as the original tagline promised, be “the most fun you’ll ever have…being scared!”

Nicotero participated in the the Shudder Panel at the annual New York Comic Con on Thursday, revealing further details about the series, including many of the writers whose stories will be adapted for the six part anthology series including Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Joe Lansdale among others.  Nicotero stressed that the tone of the series would shift from story-to-story, with some taking a lighthearted comedic approach (ala King’s own”The Lonesome Death of Jordy Verrill” segment from 1982) and others taking a much more frightening path.   He also stated that each story would be “As long as they need to be” and that he did not feel any pressure to fit the stories into segments of equal length. read more

Patrick Wilson Cast in Stephen King/Joe Hill Project for Netflix

Patrick Wilson- the actor known by horror fans for his unforgettable roles in films like Hard Candy, Insidious, and The Conjuring– will return to the world of horror in the form of a new project on Netflix. Titled, In The Tall Grass, the movie is based on a novella written by Stephen King and his son, Joe Hill.

Deadline reports that Wilson will star in the film, alongside Laysla De Oliveira (Needle in a Timestack) and Harrison Gilbertson (Picnic at Hanging Rock). The movie will be directed by Vincenzo Natali, who has most recently directed episodes of Westworld, American Gods, and Lost in Space. read more

‘Locke and Key’ Will Finally Be Adapted for Television Courtesy of Netflix

It took a long time to find the right “key” (eight years in fact), but IDW’s critically acclaimed horror comic book Locke & Key will finally get adapted for television, as Netflix is officially moving forward with the series.

The Hollywood Reporter broke the news and have confirmed that the series is a go and will consist of 10 hour long episodes.  Netflix will also not be picking up the already-made pilot, written by Joe Hill and directed by Andy Muschietti, as the company will instead recast and redevelop the series. read more

AMC To Produce Series Based on Joe Hill’s ‘NOS4A2’

Horror writer Joe Hill has just received some very welcome news, only days after receiving some bad.  While Hulu ultimately decided to pass on a small-screen adaptation of his novel Locke and Key, AMC did agree to produce a series based on arguably Hill’s best novel, NOS4A2. Fear the Walking Dead show-runner Jami O’Brien will front the project and Tornante Television (Michael Eisner’s company) will co-produce along with AMC Studios.

The announcement is both a big win and a big gamble for AMC.  While the jury is still out on new show The Terror, the network has not seen many hits outside of the zombie genre.  Partnering with a hot name in the horror literary world like Joe Hill is sure to energize both camps and fuel the fire for another TV hit.  AMC will give NOS4A2 a 10-episode run, following on the heels of the show being one of their “scripts-to-series” developmental projects last summer.  Two current shows which followed the same model were The Son and Lodge 49.  The network hopes the combination of Hill and O’Brien will give this series more mainstream appeal and staying power. read more