Posts

‘Nocturnals: The Sinister Path’: The Horror News Network Review

If one were to ask any comic fan the following question:  “Name a pulp-noir monster hero that combined suspense and hard-boiled action with a distinct artistic style?”, the vast majority of fans would quickly answer with the name “Hellboy”.  While this answer is undoubtedly true, there was a team of “monster-men” who debuted around the same time as “Big Red” who would also fit this description to a tee: Dan Brereton’s Nocturnals.

Originally published by Malibu Comics’ creator-owned Bravura imprint in 1995, The Nocturnals was like a delicious Halloween treat for fans of Universal Monsters,  pulp-era detective stories, and film noir. Made even more unique by the beautifully painted art of Dan Brereton, the Nocturnals made an impression on many a discerning fan in a decade that was infamously known for trading cards, holofoil covers, and the great comic book crash which forced more than half of the comic book stores in America to close their doors. read more

Free Comic Book Day 2017: Any Comics for Horror Fans?

Free Comic Book Day rolls around every first Saturday in May and it is a time for both fans and retailers to celebrate.  The annual event (which originated in 2002) allows fans to scoop up free copies of popular titles, many of which highlight the publisher’s event series or a new relaunch of a popular character.  It is also a day where casual fans enter comic shops across the country, helping small businesses renew their leases and hopefully find a few new customers (the comics that are offered at these events are not necessarily “free”; retailers do have to buy these comics although they get them at heavily discounted rates). read more

Image Comics to Release Doug Wagner’s Plastic

Image Comics announced today that it has a new horror comic coming in April from writer Doug Wagner and artists Daniel Hillyard and Laura Martin called “Plastic.” Although the press release lists it as a crime series, the book is about a retired serial killer who is forced to kill again to save the woman he loves. What makes this book stand out is that the woman he loves is a doll named Virginia.

Wagner said in an interview with Image+ Magazine “Some people are going to HATE it. But, for those who embrace the strange as beautiful, you’re in for one hell of a disturbingly glorious ride.” read more

Rumble: A Woe that is Madness Graphic Novel Review

Rumble: A Woe that is Madness Graphic Novel TP Review

Writer: John Arcudi
Artist: James Harren
Publisher: Image
Rating: 10 out of 10

Synopsis: Long time B.P.R.D. writer John Arcudi and artist James Harren create their own brand of monster mayhem at Image in this creator owned series that will definitely appeal to fans of Arcudi’s and Harren’s previous work.

Our Thoughts: John Arcudi’s run on B.P.R.D. has consistently been one of the best horror/monster comic books on the shelf. The stories are always filled with unimaginable horrors, but also deft characterization and story work juggling a large supporting cast. A recent addition to the Mignola-verse’s host of characters is the ancient sword wielding Agent Howards. Possessed or reincarnated as a prehistoric warrior, Howards often “steals the show” from already well-established characters like Johann Krauss and Liz Sherman. And I’m here to tell you that if you enjoyed Arcudi’s work on this title (and Agent Howards in particular), you owe it to yourself to grab a copy of the latest Rumble collection. read more