Posts

Stephan Franck Concludes Vampire Graphic Novel Series ‘Silver’

Stephan Franck has worked in a number of mediums and formats in his career, but fans will be happy to hear that his unique take on the Dracula mythos will conclude with Volume Four of his graphic novel series entitled Silver.

According to the official press release “Over the course of the last four years, Franck has been writing, illustrating and self publishing SILVER, a globe-trotting graphic novel series that mashes up the world of Bram Stoker’s classic novel Dracula with action, adventure, humor, pulp storytelling and modern sensibilities. Told over the course of 4 volumes (and a stand alone novella), Franck has created an unforgettable cast and a compelling caper that picks up 30 years after Professor Abraham Van Helsing visited Dracula’s castle. Now Van Helsing’s descendent, the mysterious vampire hunter Rosalyn, is teaming up with a ragtag group of con men for a high stakes heist to rob Europe’s richest vampires. Will they succeed, and live off their take from this one last job?” read more

Stiched Author Mariah McCourt and Artist Aaron Alexovich: The Horror News Network Interview

Graphic novel sales continue to grow at an unprecedented rate, and one of the fastest growing sub-groups is young female readers. Traditionally, teen girls were an important demographic for Manga sales, but in recent years the likes of  Raina Telgemeier (Smile, Sisters) and Noelle Stevenson (Nimona, LumberJanes) have expanded the medium beyond traditional super hero fare and Japanese imports.  Papercutz (one of the leading publishers of graphic novels for younger audiences) has just launched a new imprint focusing on this quickly expanding demographic called Charmz. One of their first offerings, entitled Stitched, is sure to make young horror fans happy.  Horror News Network  had the chance to speak to both the writer (Mariah McCourt) and artist (Aaron Alexovich) of the new title, and they were able to answer questions about their story, the changing face of graphic novel readership, and, of course, horror. read more

Mike Mignola Returns to Comics with Vampire Graphic Novel Mr. Higgins Comes Home

Gizmodo recently reported that Mike Mignola will be returning to comics with the original Dark Horse graphic novel Mr. Higgins Comes Home on October 25th, 2017.

Mr. Higgins Comes Home will be “…written by Mignola and with art from (Warwick) Johnson-Cadwell,  (and) is a send up of classic vampire stories, as two Vampire hunters convince the titular Mr. Higgins to return to the scene of his wife’s tragic death and confront the dark mysteries of what happened to him at the sinister Castle Golga.” read more

Original 1982 Creepshow Graphic Novel Adaptation to be Re-Released in May 2017

Fans of George Romero and Stephen King who missed out on the 1982 Bernie Wrightson graphic novel adaptation of their collaborative horror anthology Creepshow will get a chance to once again own the highly coveted comic version in May of 2017.

The Creepshow graphic novel will be published by Gallery 13, a new publishing arm of Simon and Shuster with a distinct focus on graphic literature,  on May 9th, 2017 and it is already available for pre-order on sites such as Amazon.com.

Fans have long clamored for a re-release and prices for an original copy (originally published by Plume) will set you back $50-$100 on ebay, depending on the condition of the book.   read more