Posts

Greg Nicotero to Helm ‘Creepshow’ TV Series

Shudder general manager Craig Engler rocked the horror world today by announcing that the company has greenlit a new Creepshow TV series which will be directed and executive produced by Greg Nicotero. Each episode of Creepshow will feature a different director with Nicotero leading off the initial installment.

Nicotero, who met his mentor, makeup legend Tom Savini, while visiting the set of Creepshow and who later worked with Romero on Day of the Dead and Creepshow 2 added, “Creepshow is a project very close to my heart! It is one of those titles that embraces the true spirit of horror..thrills and chills celebrated in one of its truest art forms, the comic book come to life! I’m honored to continue the tradition in the ‘spirit’ in which it was created.” read more

Rest in Peace: George A. Romero Dead at 77

It is with heavy hearts that the Horror News Network team reports that legendary director/writer/producer George A. Romero has passed away at the age of 77. Romero transformed the horror landscape with such indelible classic films as Night of the Living DeadDawn of the DeadCreepshow, and numerous others. This visionary artist literally invented the modern zombie story, and later works such as Resident Evil and The Walking Dead wouldn’t exist without his contributions to cinema.

Romero’s manager, Chris Roe, announced this sad news with the following statement: read more

Original 1982 Creepshow Graphic Novel Adaptation to be Re-Released in May 2017

Fans of George Romero and Stephen King who missed out on the 1982 Bernie Wrightson graphic novel adaptation of their collaborative horror anthology Creepshow will get a chance to once again own the highly coveted comic version in May of 2017.

The Creepshow graphic novel will be published by Gallery 13, a new publishing arm of Simon and Shuster with a distinct focus on graphic literature,  on May 9th, 2017 and it is already available for pre-order on sites such as Amazon.com.

Fans have long clamored for a re-release and prices for an original copy (originally published by Plume) will set you back $50-$100 on ebay, depending on the condition of the book.   read more