Posts

Famed Horror Artist Bernie Wrightson Dead at 68

Famed horror comic artist and illustrator Bernie Wrightson has died at 68 years of age.

Liz Wrightson posted the news on the official Bernie Wrightson website this morning stating that her husband had passed, “After a long battle with brain cancer.”

Liz Wrightson detailed his substantial contributions to the comic book and horror industry in the obituary, recalling that, “His first professional comic work appeared in House of Mystery #179 in 1968. He continued to work on a variety of mystery and anthology titles for both DC and its principal rival, Marvel Comics. In 1971, with writer Len Wein, Wrightson co-created the muck creature Swamp Thing for DC. He also co-created Destiny, later to become famous in the work of Neil Gaiman. By 1974 he had left DC to work at Warren Publishing who were publishing black-and-white horror-comics magazines. There he produced a series of original work as well as adaptations of stories by H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe.”  read more

Original 1982 Creepshow Graphic Novel Adaptation to be Re-Released in May 2017

Fans of George Romero and Stephen King who missed out on the 1982 Bernie Wrightson graphic novel adaptation of their collaborative horror anthology Creepshow will get a chance to once again own the highly coveted comic version in May of 2017.

The Creepshow graphic novel will be published by Gallery 13, a new publishing arm of Simon and Shuster with a distinct focus on graphic literature,  on May 9th, 2017 and it is already available for pre-order on sites such as Amazon.com.

Fans have long clamored for a re-release and prices for an original copy (originally published by Plume) will set you back $50-$100 on ebay, depending on the condition of the book.   read more

Bernie Wrightson Announces Retirement Following Health Problems

On Monday, a Facebook post co-written by Bernie Wrightson and his wife Liz announced the retirement of horror artist, Bernie Wrightson.

The post mentioned that Wrightson suffered a fall last November and started to experience problems with perception. After another brain surgery to relieve bleeding, it now appears that the artist may have lasting damage which limits functions on his left side which include walking or reliably using his left hand.

Back in 2014 the artist was admitted to the hospital after suffering a string of strokes. It was found out that he had to have surgery to remove a brain tumor. read more