Posts

BPRD: Hell on Earth #143 Early Review

BPRD: Hell on Earth #143 Review

Writer: Mike Mignola, John Arcudi

Artist: Laurence Campbell

Publisher: Dark Horse

Release Date: July 20th, 2016

Rating: 9 out of 10

Synopsis: The final story arc for BPRD: Hell on Earth begins here!

Our Thoughts: Six years ago, Mike Mignola, John Arcudi, Scott Allie, and a host of talented artists started the Bureau for Paranormal Research and Defense down a dangerous, cataclysmic road with the creation of the BPRD: Hell on Earth series.   It’s hard to believe that the journey has lasted this long, and although fans are sure to miss the title, the current team of Mignola, Arcudi, and Campbell begin to steer our heroes (and world) towards a satisfying, bittersweet conclusion in this issue. read more

Rumble: A Woe that is Madness Graphic Novel Review

Rumble: A Woe that is Madness Graphic Novel TP Review

Writer: John Arcudi
Artist: James Harren
Publisher: Image
Rating: 10 out of 10

Synopsis: Long time B.P.R.D. writer John Arcudi and artist James Harren create their own brand of monster mayhem at Image in this creator owned series that will definitely appeal to fans of Arcudi’s and Harren’s previous work.

Our Thoughts: John Arcudi’s run on B.P.R.D. has consistently been one of the best horror/monster comic books on the shelf. The stories are always filled with unimaginable horrors, but also deft characterization and story work juggling a large supporting cast. A recent addition to the Mignola-verse’s host of characters is the ancient sword wielding Agent Howards. Possessed or reincarnated as a prehistoric warrior, Howards often “steals the show” from already well-established characters like Johann Krauss and Liz Sherman. And I’m here to tell you that if you enjoyed Arcudi’s work on this title (and Agent Howards in particular), you owe it to yourself to grab a copy of the latest Rumble collection. read more

Lobster Johnson: Metal Monsters of Midtown #2 Early Review

Lobster Johnson : Metal Monsters of Midtown #2 Early Review

Writer: John Arcudi

Artist: Tonci Zonjic

Publisher: Dark Horse

Release Date: June  29, 2016

Rating: 9 out of 10

Synopsis: Lobster Johnson and the crew return in a three issue mini-series full of metal mayhem!

Our Thoughts:  After a series of one-shots, Lobster fans can rejoice at the prospects of a new mini-series!  This series picks up directly after the events of “The Forgotten Man” and it throws the reader into the deep end of the pool, in the middle of a showdown between the police, LJ, and giant robots. Fans of the Mignolaverse have a lot of titles to choose from these days, but Lobster Johnson is consistently the most fun.  Arcudi does an excellent job of working with the pulp hero and science fiction/horror motifs of the era that the book is set in, yet they are always filtered through a modern storyteller’s lens.   The Hemingway via Lester Dent dialogue and tough demeanor are ever present, as are the lovable and less hard-boiled supporting cast. read more