Original 1982 Creepshow Graphic Novel Adaptation to be Re-Released in May 2017

Fans of George Romero and Stephen King who missed out on the 1982 Bernie Wrightson graphic novel adaptation of their collaborative horror anthology Creepshow will get a chance to once again own the highly coveted comic version in May of 2017.

The Creepshow graphic novel will be published by Gallery 13, a new publishing arm of Simon and Shuster with a distinct focus on graphic literature,  on May 9th, 2017 and it is already available for pre-order on sites such as Amazon.com.

Fans have long clamored for a re-release and prices for an original copy (originally published by Plume) will set you back $50-$100 on ebay, depending on the condition of the book.  

Earlier this year, another Wrightson/King collaboration from the same era was unearthed in the form of a Cycle of the Werewolf Calendar, financed by a Kickstarter campaign whose origins were described when,” Back in 1983, Bernie Wrightson had an idea- he wanted to work with Stephen King on a werewolf project, that would pair his art with King’s writing- which would be packaged as a 12-month calendar. Each month would feature a painting from Bernie and a short vignette from King, matching the monthly transformation of a werewolf. That project quickly changed from the calendar idea into the illustrated short novel, Cycle of the Werewolf, which later was adapted into the film Silver Bullet.”  The Kickstarter campaign was a huge success, raising $78,965 (roughly $66,000 more than originally needed to fund the project) to support the publication of the calendar and Wrightson’s medical bills.

If you are a fan of Creepshow or Bernie Wrightson’s artwork, I would suggest pre-ordering this piece of horror history so you don’t have to pay higher after-market prices when the graphic novel goes out of print again.

Nick Banks on Twitter
Nick Banks
Staff Writer at Horror News Network
Nick joined the website in 2015. His lifelong love of comics and horror began with Universal Monsters and the Incredible Hulk. He has fond memories of going to Waldbaum’s supermarket with his mother and being rewarded with a 3-pack of sealed comics. It’s been all downhill from there… Since those early days, his life has been immersed in four color action and scares on the silver screen.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply