Netflix Picks Up Vertigo’s Horror Comic Book ‘Sweet Tooth’

A unique and chilling four-color look at a post-apocalyptic world is on its way to a TV screen near you, thanks to Netflix.

Jeff Lemire’s comic book–published by Vertigo under the umbrella of DC Comics–recently was picked up for eight one-hour episodes by Netflix, according to Deadline.

Hulu was originally slated to air the Warner Bros. Television series a couple of years ago, but that deal reportedly went south. Now it’s Netflix that will bring to life the tale of half-human/half-animal hybrids on the small screen.

The basic storyline of Sweet Tooth follows Gus–part boy, part deer–who leaves his home in the forest “to find the outside world ravaged by a cataclysmic event,” according to Vertigo.

In order to survive, Gus joins a “ragtag family of humans and animal-children hybrids in search of answers about this new world and the mystery behind the hybrid origins”.

One of the show’s producers certainly knows his way around a comic book franchise. Robert Downey Jr. (he of Iron Man and Avengers fame) and his wife Susan, along with Amanda Burrell, Evan Moore and Linda Moran will serve as producers of the series.

RDJ rook to Twitter to announce his role in the new show. “The sweetest things are worth waiting for,” he tweeted. “Susan and I are producing a Netflix original series, ‘Sweet Tooth’, based on the comic by Jeff Lemire.”

Jim Mickle (Stake Land) has been tapped as director, and will also act as executive producer with Beth Schwartz (Arrow).

The show’s cast includes Christian Convery (Beautiful Boy), Nonso Anoxie (The Laundromat), Adeel Akhtar (Les Miserables) and Will Forte (The Last Man On Earth), with James Brolin (Thanos, of course) as the voice of the story’s narrator.

Keep reading Horror News Network for any updates and a premiere date for Sweet Tooth.

Thomas Tuna
Thomas Tuna
Thomas A. Tuna is a comic book veteran who began his writing career back in the ’70s with Charlton Comics, contributing to such horror titles as Ghost Manor, Haunted, The Many Ghosts of Dr. Graves and Ghostly Haunts. Most recently, he has served as a writer and editor (with more than a smattering of horror yarns) for such comic book websites as Hyper Epics and Red Moon Features. Some of his favorite horror flicks include Jaws, Salem’s Lot, Dracula (with Frank Langella) and Blade. His favorite horror comic books? Tomb of Dracula (by Marv Wolfman and Gene Colan) and Swamp Thing (by Len Wein and Berni Wrightson).

Similar Articles

Comments

Latest News

Netflix Finalizing Acquisition of ‘The Woman in the Window’

If you like thrillers in the vein of Hitchcock’s Rear Window and Vertigo, you may want to pay close attention to the upcoming flick...

Stephen King Teases New Novel ‘Later’ Due Out Next March

As Founding Father Benjamin Franklin once wrote: "In this world, nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes." Well, you can add...

‘The Rental’ Leads The Pack–Again–At The Box Office

Dave Franco's directorial debut is going very well so far. His horror flick The Rental held onto its crown as box office king for the second consecutive...

Satanic Panic ’81’s Sophomore Effort “Mara” to Release this October

Satanic Panic 81’s sophomore effort “Mara” is a tense and frightening walk through the mind of composer Brian Burdzy. From the hauntingly pounding opening...

Santa Stripe Coming from NECA Toys This Fall

As Crazy Eddie pitchman Jerry Carroll used to say "It's Christmas in July!!!" for fans of high end monster toys and Gremlins. NECA announced that...

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.