‘Infidel’ #1: The Horror News Network Review

Image’s new horror series Infidel is one that will appeal to fans of atmospheric horror stories as well as those who enjoy smart, socially conscious writing about the real fears that are created through prejudice and ignorance.  Former DC editor Pornsak Pichetshote makes his impressive writing debut in this series and artist Aaron Campbell compliments Pichetshote’s nightmarish script perfectly.

Infidel throws the reader into the deep end of the pool immediately, as our main character Aisha experiences a horrific nightmare that includes insects and a pale ghoul that wants to gently chomp on her throat.  This opening scene begins the uncomfortable atmosphere of tension and claustrophobia that permeates the story, both inside and outside of Aisha’s apartment.  There are certainly breaks in the tension (such as the baking of a Return of the Jedi inspired cake), but the underlying feeling of dread is ever present, even in scenes which seem mundane or day-to-day in comparison to the opening scare.

Pichetshote does a fine job of establishing the characters as believable people through his script, conducting realistic conversations with and between the characters, especially in light of the spectre of everyday racism that stalks Aisha and her family. Most importantly, the writing never comes off as “preachy” or contrived; when Aisha and her friend discuss the strained relationship between Aisha and her mother (a woman who Aisha describes as a person who obsesses “…over the shadows in a room full of light”) it comes off as a typical and yet complicated relationship between a mother and daughter that will ring true for many readers.

In terms of artistic realism, Campbell handles the everyday scenes that take place in the apartment and busy urban streets, but he also conveys terror through the creepy pale man at the start, and a disturbing ghost at the end of the issue.  His “horror moments” take on a different look, with a lot of smudging and shadows compared to his take on each character’s time in the light of day.  The final scene in the debut issue was a true heart-stopper, but not in the way you would expect for a horror comic, leaving a type of cliffhanger that is difficult to pull off after only one installment.

Fans of last year’s break-out hit Get Out will certainly enjoy this contemporary exploration of the politics of relationships, gender, and religion, with a healthy dose of nightmare material.

Infidel #1 will be released on March 14 at finer comic book shops everywhere.

Nick Banks
Nick Banks
Nick joined the website in 2015. His lifelong love of comics and horror began with Universal Monsters and the Incredible Hulk. He has fond memories of going to Waldbaum’s supermarket with his mother and being rewarded with a 3-pack of sealed comics. It’s been all downhill from there… Since those early days, his life has been immersed in four color action and scares on the silver screen.

Similar Articles

Comments

Latest News

Netflix Finalizing Acquisition of ‘The Woman in the Window’

If you like thrillers in the vein of Hitchcock’s Rear Window and Vertigo, you may want to pay close attention to the upcoming flick...

Stephen King Teases New Novel ‘Later’ Due Out Next March

As Founding Father Benjamin Franklin once wrote: "In this world, nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes." Well, you can add...

‘The Rental’ Leads The Pack–Again–At The Box Office

Dave Franco's directorial debut is going very well so far. His horror flick The Rental held onto its crown as box office king for the second consecutive...

Satanic Panic ’81’s Sophomore Effort “Mara” to Release this October

Satanic Panic 81’s sophomore effort “Mara” is a tense and frightening walk through the mind of composer Brian Burdzy. From the hauntingly pounding opening...

Santa Stripe Coming from NECA Toys This Fall

As Crazy Eddie pitchman Jerry Carroll used to say "It's Christmas in July!!!" for fans of high end monster toys and Gremlins. NECA announced that...

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.