Chelsea Stardust Will Direct Novelist Grady Hendrix’s ‘Satanic Panic’

Deadline is reporting that Chelsea Stardust will direct novelist Grady Hendrix’s horror comedy Satanic Panic for the newly minted Fangoria film division.

Stardust began here career at Blumhouse and then transitioned to Crypt TV where she worked on several short films, before making her directorial debut with Stardust All That We Destroy. 

Producer Dallas Sonnier said “Our movie screams for a female director’s vision, and we had a blast getting to know several truly talented candidates. With Chelsea at the helm, I feel strongly that we have a future horror comedy classic on our hands that will be celebrated by Fangoria audiences who crave wickedly entertaining, boundary-pushing movies.”

Hendrix is a bestselling author and recently won the Bram Stoker Award for his examination of horror novels, Paperbacks From Hell (and you can read our review right here) and recently finished his latest novel We Sold Our Souls, another devilish tale set in the world of heavy metal (out this September from Quirk Books).

Hendrix “…hatched the Satanic Panic script with Ted Goeghegan. It’s an After Hours-esque dark comedy in a supernatural setting. A pizza delivery girl at the end of her financial rope has to fight for her life — and her tips — when her last order of the night turns out to be high society Satanists in need of a virgin sacrifice.” Hendrix and Geoghegan recently worked together on Mohawk, which they co-wrote and Geoghegan directed.

Two of Hendrix’s earlier novels are currently in development. Horrorstor, about an IKEA that contains more frightening sites than just flimsy furniture, is being developed as a series with Josh Schwartz, Charlie Kaufman and Gail Berman executive producing, and his first novel My Best Friend’s Exorcism is being produced by the Gotham Group.

Stay tuned for casting news for Satanic Panic when it is announced.

Nick Banks
Nick Banks
Nick joined the website in 2015. His lifelong love of comics and horror began with Universal Monsters and the Incredible Hulk. He has fond memories of going to Waldbaum’s supermarket with his mother and being rewarded with a 3-pack of sealed comics. It’s been all downhill from there… Since those early days, his life has been immersed in four color action and scares on the silver screen.

Similar Articles

Comments

Latest News

Catch Up On The Devil’s Deeds With The ‘Lucifer’ Recap Trailer

All Hell is about to break loose! The countdown to the return of the Devil in Season 5 of Lucifer on Netflix has begun in earnest. But...

Netflix Finalizing Acquisition of ‘The Woman in the Window’

If you like thrillers in the vein of Hitchcock’s Rear Window and Vertigo, you may want to pay close attention to the upcoming flick...

Stephen King Teases New Novel ‘Later’ Due Out Next March

As Founding Father Benjamin Franklin once wrote: "In this world, nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes." Well, you can add...

‘The Rental’ Leads The Pack–Again–At The Box Office

Dave Franco's directorial debut is going very well so far. His horror flick The Rental held onto its crown as box office king for the second consecutive...

Satanic Panic ’81’s Sophomore Effort “Mara” to Release this October

Satanic Panic 81’s sophomore effort “Mara” is a tense and frightening walk through the mind of composer Brian Burdzy. From the hauntingly pounding opening...

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.