Horror Comics

KISS and Vampirella Join Forces in an Upcoming Horror Comic

This June, fans will be treated to a horror comic with an unlikely combination of characters. Dynamite Entertainment has paired the rock band KISS with Vampirella to bring together two iconic brands into a single comic. KISS/Vampirella #1 will be a mini-series written by Chris Sebela (Captain Marvel, Alien vs. Predator) and illustrated by Annapaola Martello (Scarlet Witch, Spider-Gwen).

Gene Simmons seems very excited about the upcoming release and had this to say about it: “I have been in love with Vampirella (who hasn’t?), ever since Forry Ackerman created her. I knew Forry, and he spoke fondly of Vampi, almost as if she was real. For a wide-eyed kid who grew up voraciously devouring the pages of Warren publications (including Famous Monsters of Filmland), it’s a personal thrill to witness this momentous event in our four-decades-old, proud comic book history. I can’t wait to see and read KISS/Vampirella.”

read more

Famed Horror Artist Bernie Wrightson Dead at 68

Famed horror comic artist and illustrator Bernie Wrightson has died at 68 years of age.

Liz Wrightson posted the news on the official Bernie Wrightson website this morning stating that her husband had passed, “After a long battle with brain cancer.”

Liz Wrightson detailed his substantial contributions to the comic book and horror industry in the obituary, recalling that, “His first professional comic work appeared in House of Mystery #179 in 1968. He continued to work on a variety of mystery and anthology titles for both DC and its principal rival, Marvel Comics. In 1971, with writer Len Wein, Wrightson co-created the muck creature Swamp Thing for DC. He also co-created Destiny, later to become famous in the work of Neil Gaiman. By 1974 he had left DC to work at Warren Publishing who were publishing black-and-white horror-comics magazines. There he produced a series of original work as well as adaptations of stories by H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe.” 

read more

Cullen Bunn Discusses Regression and Upcoming 2017 Horror Comics

Over the past few years, Cullen Bunn has become without question one of the most sought after and prolific comic book writers on the planet. With work on titles like  Blood Feud, The Sixth Gunn, Hellheim, Deadpool, Spiderman and Harrow County, Bunn has covered many genres along the way.  This year the Horror Comic Award winning writer will be adding Regression to his resume.  We recently caught up with Bunn to talk about the new series and what else we can expect from the “Bunnderdome” in 2017.

read more

Karen Berger’s Dark Horse Imprint Establishes a New Line of Creator-Owned Comic Books and Graphic Novels for Publisher

According to a recent press release from Dark Horse Comics, Karen Berger, the award-winning comic book editor and the founder of DC Comics’ Vertigo line, will “acquire, edit, and oversee Berger Books, a new line of creator-owned comic books and graphic novels to be published by Dark Horse Comics.”

Berger, who was the guiding force behind some of the greatest comic stories ever told (including Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing, Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman, Garth Ennis’ Helllblazer and Preacher, and Grant Morrison’s Doom Patrol to only name a few), will bring some of her “magic” to Dark Horse Comics in the near future.

read more

Exploring Hellboy’s Past: Chris Roberson Discusses The Visitor

Hitting your local comic store this week is Dark Horse’s The Visitor: How and Why He Stayed.  This new mini -series is the latest spin-off from Mike Mignola’s iconic Hellboy series. At the helm for the series, alongside Mignola and Paul Grist, is Chris Roberson.  Roberson, best known to horror comic fans from iZombie and another “Mignolaverse” favorite, Hellboy and The B.P.R.D., promises to take the Hellboy series in a more “introspective” direction, as we learned when we caught up with him to discuss The Visitor: How and Why He Stayed.

read more

Original 1982 Creepshow Graphic Novel Adaptation to be Re-Released in May 2017

Fans of George Romero and Stephen King who missed out on the 1982 Bernie Wrightson graphic novel adaptation of their collaborative horror anthology Creepshow will get a chance to once again own the highly coveted comic version in May of 2017.

The Creepshow graphic novel will be published by Gallery 13, a new publishing arm of Simon and Shuster with a distinct focus on graphic literature,  on May 9th, 2017 and it is already available for pre-order on sites such as Amazon.com.

Fans have long clamored for a re-release and prices for an original copy (originally published by Plume) will set you back $50-$100 on ebay, depending on the condition of the book.  

read more

Tomie: Complete Deluxe Edition Review

Synopsis: “Tomie Kawakami is a femme fatale with long black hair and a beauty mark just under her left eye. She can seduce nearly any man, and drive them to murder as well, even though the victim is often Tomie herself. While one lover seeks to keep her for himself, another grows terrified of the immortal succubus. But soon they realize that no matter how many times they kill her, the world will never be free of Tomie.”

Our Thoughts: With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, we thought now would be a perfect time to review Tomie.

read more

Women in Horror Month: Interview with Jennifer Van Gessel

February is Women in Horror Month! As part of the Horror News Network spotlight on women this month we have talked to Jennifer Van Gessel about her experience as a woman creator in the world of horror. Jennifer is writing the film “Beast No More” due for release in 2017 and the one-shot comic prequel “Beast No More: Metamorphosis” as well as “Unleash” for Amigo Comics. She is also working on the “Nancy in Hell” television pilot. This busy lady told us about her experience as a female creator and offered some insights into her creative process.

read more

Bernie Wrightson Announces Retirement Following Health Problems

On Monday, a Facebook post co-written by Bernie Wrightson and his wife Liz announced the retirement of horror artist, Bernie Wrightson.

The post mentioned that Wrightson suffered a fall last November and started to experience problems with perception. After another brain surgery to relieve bleeding, it now appears that the artist may have lasting damage which limits functions on his left side which include walking or reliably using his left hand.

Back in 2014 the artist was admitted to the hospital after suffering a string of strokes. It was found out that he had to have surgery to remove a brain tumor.

read more

Image Comics to Release Doug Wagner’s Plastic

Image Comics announced today that it has a new horror comic coming in April from writer Doug Wagner and artists Daniel Hillyard and Laura Martin called “Plastic.” Although the press release lists it as a crime series, the book is about a retired serial killer who is forced to kill again to save the woman he loves. What makes this book stand out is that the woman he loves is a doll named Virginia.

Wagner said in an interview with Image+ Magazine “Some people are going to HATE it. But, for those who embrace the strange as beautiful, you’re in for one hell of a disturbingly glorious ride.”

read more