Horror Comics

Karen Berger’s Dark Horse Imprint Establishes a New Line of Creator-Owned Comic Books and Graphic Novels for Publisher

According to a recent press release from Dark Horse Comics, Karen Berger, the award-winning comic book editor and the founder of DC Comics’ Vertigo line, will “acquire, edit, and oversee Berger Books, a new line of creator-owned comic books and graphic novels to be published by Dark Horse Comics.”

Berger, who was the guiding force behind some of the greatest comic stories ever told (including Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing, Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman, Garth Ennis’ Helllblazer and Preacher, and Grant Morrison’s Doom Patrol to only name a few), will bring some of her “magic” to Dark Horse Comics in the near future.

read more

Exploring Hellboy’s Past: Chris Roberson Discusses The Visitor

Hitting your local comic store this week is Dark Horse’s The Visitor: How and Why He Stayed.  This new mini -series is the latest spin-off from Mike Mignola’s iconic Hellboy series. At the helm for the series, alongside Mignola and Paul Grist, is Chris Roberson.  Roberson, best known to horror comic fans from iZombie and another “Mignolaverse” favorite, Hellboy and The B.P.R.D., promises to take the Hellboy series in a more “introspective” direction, as we learned when we caught up with him to discuss The Visitor: How and Why He Stayed.

read more

Original 1982 Creepshow Graphic Novel Adaptation to be Re-Released in May 2017

Fans of George Romero and Stephen King who missed out on the 1982 Bernie Wrightson graphic novel adaptation of their collaborative horror anthology Creepshow will get a chance to once again own the highly coveted comic version in May of 2017.

The Creepshow graphic novel will be published by Gallery 13, a new publishing arm of Simon and Shuster with a distinct focus on graphic literature,  on May 9th, 2017 and it is already available for pre-order on sites such as Amazon.com.

Fans have long clamored for a re-release and prices for an original copy (originally published by Plume) will set you back $50-$100 on ebay, depending on the condition of the book.  

read more

Tomie: Complete Deluxe Edition Review

Synopsis: “Tomie Kawakami is a femme fatale with long black hair and a beauty mark just under her left eye. She can seduce nearly any man, and drive them to murder as well, even though the victim is often Tomie herself. While one lover seeks to keep her for himself, another grows terrified of the immortal succubus. But soon they realize that no matter how many times they kill her, the world will never be free of Tomie.”

Our Thoughts: With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, we thought now would be a perfect time to review Tomie.

read more

Women in Horror Month: Interview with Jennifer Van Gessel

February is Women in Horror Month! As part of the Horror News Network spotlight on women this month we have talked to Jennifer Van Gessel about her experience as a woman creator in the world of horror. Jennifer is writing the film “Beast No More” due for release in 2017 and the one-shot comic prequel “Beast No More: Metamorphosis” as well as “Unleash” for Amigo Comics. She is also working on the “Nancy in Hell” television pilot. This busy lady told us about her experience as a female creator and offered some insights into her creative process.

read more

Bernie Wrightson Announces Retirement Following Health Problems

On Monday, a Facebook post co-written by Bernie Wrightson and his wife Liz announced the retirement of horror artist, Bernie Wrightson.

The post mentioned that Wrightson suffered a fall last November and started to experience problems with perception. After another brain surgery to relieve bleeding, it now appears that the artist may have lasting damage which limits functions on his left side which include walking or reliably using his left hand.

Back in 2014 the artist was admitted to the hospital after suffering a string of strokes. It was found out that he had to have surgery to remove a brain tumor.

read more

Image Comics to Release Doug Wagner’s Plastic

Image Comics announced today that it has a new horror comic coming in April from writer Doug Wagner and artists Daniel Hillyard and Laura Martin called “Plastic.” Although the press release lists it as a crime series, the book is about a retired serial killer who is forced to kill again to save the woman he loves. What makes this book stand out is that the woman he loves is a doll named Virginia.

Wagner said in an interview with Image+ Magazine “Some people are going to HATE it. But, for those who embrace the strange as beautiful, you’re in for one hell of a disturbingly glorious ride.”

read more

Image Comics Announces New Cullen Bunn Series Regression

Image Comics announced today that noted comic scribe, and 2016’s Horror News Network’s Comic Awards writer of the year, Cullen Bunn will write his first comic for the company entitled Regression.

Regression is, according to the official Image Comics press release, a horror tale that follows the life of, “Adrian, a man tormented by ghastly waking nightmares. Pushed to a point of desperation, Adrian reluctantly turns to past life regression hypnotherapy as a means of understanding and treating the unwanted visions. When his consciousness is cast back through time, Adrian witnesses a scene of horrific debauchery and diabolism before waking up.”

read more

Dark Horse Comics Slayer: Repentless #1 Continues the Repentless Video Trilogy

Heavy metal, gothic rock, and comic books have had a long history together.  Whether it is the legendary story of Kiss pouring their vials of blood into the ink vats that would produce Marvel Super Special: Kiss #1 in 1977 or the later colaboration in 1994 between the original “Shock Rocker” Alice Cooper and Sandman creator Neil Gaiman on Alice Cooper: The Last Temptation, comic history contains many examples of cross-overs between the world of rock and roll stars and comics.

While the aforementioned comics (as well as a slew of Kiss branded comics produced over the years) focused on the band or performers as “the stars of the show”, other comic creators have been more tangentially inspired by a band’s music.  James O’Barr often discusses how music influenced the creation of The Crow, as some chapters are named after Joy Division songs and the lyrics of Robert Smith of The Cure are found throughout the first story.

read more

Jennifer Van Gessel Talks “Beast No More”

We recently caught up with writer Jennifer Van Gessel to discuss her latest project, “Beast No More.” Van Gessel is writing both the film, “Beast No More,” due for release in 2017 and the one-shot comic prequel, “Beast No More: Metamorphosis,” coming out this month from Amigo Comics. In this interview, Jennifer gives us more information about the story itself and tells us how a spooky event in her childhood helped shape this tale.

Stephanie Shamblin Gray: Can you tell us a bit about the story of “Beast No More?”

read more