Abe Sapien #36 Early Review

Abe Sapien #36 Early Review

 

Writer: Mike Mignola, Scott Allie

Artist: Sebastian Fiumara

Publisher: Dark Horse

Release Date:  August 31st, 2016

Rating: 9 out of 10

 

 

Synopsis:  Abe and a transformed Gustav Strobl battle to the finish in the final issue of the series!

Our Thoughts:

 Abe Sapien’s solo title has always been focused on the emotional and harrowing journey of Abe; a “new” man searching for his humanity and place in an unforgiving, cruel world.  Allie and Mignola have expanded on his story over more than 50 issues (including mini-series and one-shots) and it comes to an end with the inevitable showdown with dark sorcerer Strobl, which has been set-up since issue one.

A well-established trademark of the on-going series is the small moments where Abe connects to humans in mundane, and often idyllic, Norman Rockwell style settings.  This issue is no different, and before the battle starts, Mignola and Allie give readers one final vignette between Abe and a young boy and his uncle.  These scenes have helped establish a sense of realism in the series and also further extrapolate on Abe’s quest for normalcy in a crazy world.

The poignancy of the moment is quickly shattered and Sebastian Fiumara’s artwork takes center stage, pitting Age against a similar foe in the form of the hellish doppelganger Stobl.  Fiumara’s artwork takes the reader into full battle-mode with dire consequences for all those involved.

With both Abe Sapien and B.P.R.D: Hell On Earth coming to an end, the feeling is a bit bitter sweet, but the door is left open for an even greater reunion in the near future.

Nick Banks
Nick Banks
Nick joined the website in 2015. His lifelong love of comics and horror began with Universal Monsters and the Incredible Hulk. He has fond memories of going to Waldbaum’s supermarket with his mother and being rewarded with a 3-pack of sealed comics. It’s been all downhill from there… Since those early days, his life has been immersed in four color action and scares on the silver screen.

Similar Articles

Comments

Latest News

Netflix Finalizing Acquisition of ‘The Woman in the Window’

If you like thrillers in the vein of Hitchcock’s Rear Window and Vertigo, you may want to pay close attention to the upcoming flick...

Stephen King Teases New Novel ‘Later’ Due Out Next March

As Founding Father Benjamin Franklin once wrote: "In this world, nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes." Well, you can add...

‘The Rental’ Leads The Pack–Again–At The Box Office

Dave Franco's directorial debut is going very well so far. His horror flick The Rental held onto its crown as box office king for the second consecutive...

Satanic Panic ’81’s Sophomore Effort “Mara” to Release this October

Satanic Panic 81’s sophomore effort “Mara” is a tense and frightening walk through the mind of composer Brian Burdzy. From the hauntingly pounding opening...

Santa Stripe Coming from NECA Toys This Fall

As Crazy Eddie pitchman Jerry Carroll used to say "It's Christmas in July!!!" for fans of high end monster toys and Gremlins. NECA announced that...

Newsletter Sign-Up

Subscribe to our newsletter

Our bi-monthly newsletter consists of the latest horror news and CT HorrorFest happenings.